Day One of my Journey

Standard

You know, I really feel like I am going on the ride of my life.  This is like an unplanned road trip-I have all the tools and I generally know the direction I am going to travel, but I really don’t know where I’m going to end up. It’s all good though because I’m so excited! I’m packed up (very lightly) and ready to go!

My tools consist of some hair rollers, conditioner, wide-tooth comb and the support of other women who know what it is to travel this road. I will stop by and pick up advice and get directions as I go…as for now I know I’m on my way leaving my perm (yes, girl my perm), hot curlers, sulfate shampoos and any other chemicals that I depended on to keep my hair laid straight, behind.

For those of you who don’t understand, this is hard for me because I have been getting my hair straightened for as long as I can remember and for me that is the only way to go. However, I recently went through some damaging experiences with my hair and for about 2 months now I have been wearing a weave. I’m ready for my hair to grow back, but this time I want it to grow naturally. I have been researching this for a little while now and I am pretty convinced that this is the way to go. Now, there are women that do the drastic BC (big chop) where they cut off all of their relaxed hair to get the totally natural look. Well…I won’t be doing that for a looonnng while.  I will, however, be going through the transition stage and that in itself will be a trying experience for me.

I’m pretty excited though and I’m really excited to see where I will end up a year from now!

All right now…I’m off! Check out some recent pictures below.  My first natural hairstyle with only rollers and no heat. I am still researching the perfect products for my hair (will share) but last night I basically washed my hair with a conditioner once I realized:  a) how much condition I lacked and 2. how bad shampoo with sulfate is for your hair (and I had plenty of that).

Check me out:

Leave a Reply

