Finally Figured it Out…well I think so at least

Standard

So, this past Friday–right after work–I went Whole Foods to see what I could see.  Boy was it nice! I ended up picking up the following:

  • Avalon Organics Clarifying Conditioner Lemon enriched with Shea butter & Babassu Oil
  • Avalon Organics Shampoo Lemon
  • Kinky Curly Curling Custard
  • Apple Cider Vinegar

Then,  once I couldn’t find any natural oils I decided to head over to Meijer and pick up some:

  • Doo Gro Mega Thick oil

I decided to do a co-wash with the Avalon Organics Conditioner and follow up with an ACV rinse which I put a shower cap over for about 15 minutes before washing out. My hair needed some moisture BADLY!!! So, I used the Doo Gro Mega Thick oil for a nice (and relaxing) hot oil treatment.  Once  I rinsed my hair out I combed it out with a wide-tooth comb very gently and started with my bantu-knot out. I used the Kinky Curly Custard on each section that I knotted then wrapped my head with a bonnet and let it dry out.

See the results:

Bantu Knot-Out

I really think this added so much moisture to my hair.  It lost a lot of its dryness.   The previous hairstyles didn’t come out as nice and shiny because my hair was so dry.  Another thing I noticed with this method is that I didn’t have any dandruff.  A lot of times after I wash my hair with shampoo I can still see dandruff caked up in some places.  No matter how hard I scrub. Then when I blow dry my hair it just drys up as well and then it all over everywhere.  But, this time, without even using shampoo my hair feels clean and I don’t see any dandruff and it smells so good!

Today I washed it again and did the bantu knot-out (cause it’s sooo easy) and I bought some Shea Butter Mega moisturizer to use as an oil sheen for my hair once I take it all out.  Yep, I think I can, I think I can, I think I can!  I will make it up this hill!  I can’t wait until I get to the top! 🙂 

One response »

  1. Hi Nikki,

    was this at the beginning of your natural hair journey?

    Gosh, I really envy you gusy in the US…..you have such big stores and a wide range of good products, on the shelves, for naturals.

    I was out teher August 2010 and was at walmart, but didn’t get a chance to go to whole foods.

    I found the bantu leave in hair conditioner, but I couldn’t buy it because I’m allergic to lanolin. Geez….just about most black hair products have this in it.

Leave a Reply

