Natural is Beautiful

Standard

Isn’t it funny how once something becomes obvious to you, you start noticing it everywhere. For example, your boyfriend buys a new black hybrid-you start seeing black hybrids on every corner. Every since I have decided to go on this natural journey, I have noticed so many woman with their natural locks…and they are beautiful!
I mean I noticed before, but not the way I notice now. Now, I look at the way that they have styled their twa’s and the fun in their twist-outs and the strength in their locs. It’s a beautiful thing.
On the unfortunate side of the coin, I have also noticed the African-American women whom I have explained my journey to. When let them know that I am going natural they say to me “well good luck with that one” or “well…let me know how that works out for you.”
It doesn’t offend me, it just makes me sad. I mean, really, is it that bad to know yourself. Embrace every part of who you are. But, honestly I can’t blame them because I did have that same mentality. It is the fear of the unknown and what you don’t understand does hurt you. I’m learning as I grow and I can’t say enough how excited I am to begin this journey :~)

2 responses »

  1. I’ve got to say that you look beautiful with natural hair. My friend has had her hair chemically straightened/hot combed/relaxed etc. since she can remember and I think in over the almost 15 years I’ve known her I’ve seen her hair curly and natural ONCE. I think it’s such a defined state of beauty in our society that African American women feel that they need to be like everyone else rather than embrace their culture and natural beauty is sad.

    Though it’s a matter of preference as always. Either way, I’ve always said if I could rock a fro, I so would and I don’t mean any offense by that, I just really dig the look.

    Well, thanks for coming by my blog and for highlighting me. It’s very much appreciated! 😀 Talk to you soon.

    -NPC

  2. LOL! Thanks so much! That’s really nice! I don’t know why it’s so hard for us, I guess since we can remember we’ve always been groomed to believe it’s something we had to do! I’m really excited…

Leave a Reply

