Book Review: Thank God I’m Natural

Standard

Book Review: Thank God I'm Natural

Reading will always get you through any adventure. I have been reading tons of your blog posts everyday and they are all encouraging! I love the stories, the advice, the realness!

I read a book a couple of weeks ago called Thank God I’m Natural by Chris-Tia E. Donaldson. This is a great, easy-to-read book for anyone trying to figure out what it truly means to be natural.  There are so many stereotypes when it comes to women wanting to rock their natural tresses.  She goes through and explains the process for every natural and transition hair styles from a simple twist-out to sister locks. I like this book especially because she tells her own story of becoming natural and the obstacles she would encounter and decisions she would have to make especially when it came time to rock her natural look in the corporate universe.

It’s complete with the natural hair dictionary and everything.  Like I said, this book is a great beginners guide. It’s simple;  no crazy jargon to get you confused. It’s straight to the point and it leaves you wanting to get to know your hair.  Even if you have been natural for a while, it’s a good book to read.

************************************************

Book Review: Curly Like Me

Next on the list is Curly Like Me: How to Grow Your Hair Healthy, Long and Strong by Teri LaFlesh

Check out her story here.  Her hair type is not at all close to mine, I believe she is in the 3’s and I’m def. a 4b or c, but I think our goal remains the same no matter what and that is to grow and maintain naturally long, healthy tresses! I would love to for you to recommend any good books or blogs for me to check out!

Leave a Reply

