Genie Locks/Yarn Braids

Standard

I know, I have not been very good at keeping up with my blog. I’m mostly disappointing myself because when I’m ready to look back on my progress, I won’t have as much to look over ๐Ÿ˜ฆ o’well.

Anyways, already I miss length. I didn’t have very much to begin with, but it was enough to style-do twist, bantu knots, braid outs etc. Now, there is not very much hair for me to manipulate so as I started looking all over youtube (as I do very often) I saw someone do some yarn braids! YARN BRAIDS?!? WHAT IS THIS???? I was totally intrigued. I searched the subject and found 100 different videos on the subject (wouldn’t expect anything less from my very informative natural hair community ๐Ÿ™‚ ). After research and a great tutorial I was ready to try them for myself.

It has been 2 weeks since I first put them in and I have to say I really like them. It was my first time doing any kind of extensions in my hair and it was really easy to do. I wanted to put some kind of braid extensions in my hair, but I was afraid to let anyone else do them for me because every time someone does them for me they always pull my hair too tight. It always looks good, but my scalp and hair end up suffering in the end. I was prepared not to do any kind of long-term protective style-besides a wig here and there-until I came across the yarn braids.

Before doing them, the night before I did a hot oil treatment, washed and deep conditioned my hair. Everyday I spritz it with water, glycerin and conditioner mixture to keep them moisturized. Here are my results:

If you are interested in trying them too here is a great video I found it gives before, during and after tips!
Have fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

10 responses »

  1. Hello Naturally Njoyable,
    I am thinking about having my hair done in Genie Locks and I too went on to u-tube and found some great tips and beautifully done hair but I’m still skeptical about how they look since I’ve never seen them in person. It’s yarn right?! I don’t want to look like my hair is a yarn mop. Your hair looks great and it looks like you didn’t use the black yarn. What color and brand are you using? My hair is medium brown and I want it to reflect that color if I have them done. I really want to do do the genie locks and I would love to have some feedback on how natural they look in person. I’d appreciate it very much. Thanks & blessings,

    • Hi YaYa. I really loved my yarn braids! Especially when I first did my big chop and not really used to the short look on me. They look more like dreadlocks. Everyone thought I had dreads when I had them in. You can curl them with rollers and hot water. I really did like them. I used black yarn and a dark brown yarn and just mixed the colors together. You can’t match your hair with yarn and black all over would look crazy on me.
      Here is a link to one of the best yarn braid tutorials on youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TZUUKpLOYVA she has a part one and part two. If the link doesn’t work her name is BlackOnyx77. She also tells you the brand of yarn to use (I can’t remember what it was called, but I used the same brand and got it from Walmart for like $2 and you only need one pack unless you want extremely long braids).

      Thanks so much for stopping by! I haven’t updated on here in a while…perhaps I will do a 18 month update! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Good luck! Let me know how it turns out.

      • Blessings Njoyable,
        Thanks so much for taking the time to respond to my questions about Genie Locks, it was very helpful. I really appreciate you telling me about mixing the colors. I didn’t want all of the black either. Very helpful! i will definitely check out Black Onyx and thank you for the link. I’m having my hair done on Saturday and I can’t wait! If it looks anything like yours I will be happy. I’ll let you know how it turns out.
        Thanks again,
        Much Peace,
        Ya Ya

      • Njoyable,
        I just finished watching Black Onyx’s video. Yes, just what I needed. Very clear instructions. I meant to ask you. Do you simply take one black yarn and one brown yarn and loop them together for each braid?

      • Sometimes I take all black yarn and sometimes I take all brown yard for some braids and then sometimes I take black and brown together. I like the highlighted look. So I would do most of the back (first 3-4 rows in the back) all black. Then when I get towards the middle I would so 3 braids black three braids all brown or mix it up with black and brown. So it would have a more highlighted look. I hope that makes sense.

      • Thanks so much for you help Njoyable. That makes a lot of sense. I’ve been on the phone for quite awhile looking for the color ‘coffee’ at Walmart stores with no luck so far. Oh! They have 2 left and no black so I’ll have to go to another Walmart to get the black. I really appreciate your help with this and it’s nice to have someone out there that’s done this and shares. Thanks so much for your support.
        Much Peace, YaYa

      • Hello again Njoyable,
        I wanted to let you know what was going on with my journey with Genie Locs. I have my brown and black yarn now. I had to go to 2 different Walmarts to get it. I thought I would just try it out and get some practice in even though I haven’t prepared my hair or yarn for the real thing yet. Keep in mind I have never braided extensions so I’m following the tutorials. The first one I did was too far away from the root of my hair. The second one was closer and tighter but here’s the problem. I have fine hair around the edges of my head and what I noticed is there’s kind of a knot where it begins. I’ve seen this before in other folk’s hair extensions and I don’t like it a bit. How do I get a smooth transition from root to braid? When I loop the yarn around my hair I’m a bit lost as to how to proceed with the braid. Do I twist the yarn before I start braiding or what? Would appreciate your help.
        By the way, I really like the way the brown and black yarn look together.
        I have an appointment to have someone do my hair and I thought maybe I could do it to save money but now I’m not so sure.
        thanks so much,
        yaya

Leave a Reply

