Venting

Standard

I just want to take this opportunity to vent.  Hopefully if I get this off of my chest I will stop waking up upset about it.

So, I went to get my hair straightened and TRIMMED (please note TRIMMED is the key word here) and came out of the salon with a CUT!!

See picture of me smiling on the outside:

Before I went my hair looked like this:

This above picture was taken 2 days before I went to the salon. Now, I did ask for my hair to be trimmed if needed, but for some reason that sounded like cut to her! I am so upset. I have been going to the same person for almost 8 years and she knew that I was growing my hair out, but why would she cut it? I just don’t know. I am sooo upset soo upset.  About 2 inches is gone from the back.

On the bright side, it is in a cute little style, but 2 inches is almost 4 months of growth gone down the drain. The top part has about an inch that has been cut, so it’s not horrible.

I know this sounds vain, but to me this is what we call a SETBACK because curly girls we know that we work hard for our locks to retain length and the effort it takes to wash, co-wash, condition, detangle is all such a tedious that when something like this happens it hurts the heart because all our hard work is literally being thrown in the trash.

So, now I have a new growth challenge and that is have my hair (the front at least) back to the length it was pre-CUT by September at least and the rest back to normal length by November. I will admit, after she cut the ruff ends off my hair (which is what I was going to get done to begin with MAYBE  a half an inch) my curls fall so lightly and they are more defined.

I know that I will ONLY be letting her flat-iron my hair from now on and I am going to be searching all over youtube for instructions on how to cut my ends!!! I tell you, you only get one chance to mess up on my head!! ONE CHANCE!! But she has been good a long time, so I will go back–but no more scissors for her! 😦

Have you ever experienced a setback? How did you handle it?

Leave a Reply

